Towards completion

I spent a good chunk of today writing my end of assignment report. Telling the story of this two-year roller coaster ride was a challenge. I sent it off for review to two trusted ‘advisors’ and will be waiting anxiously for their verdict. I would like to submit my report before I leave.

And so, with all that writing, I nearly forgot my blog posting for the day, so this will be short.

It was raining in Kabul today. Some people said it was good as it ‘cleaned’ the dust of the streets. But it did more, it turned Kabul in a dirty garbage strewn mud pool. Kabul river flowed again, also full of garbage. A little boy with two snow-white kites slipped in the mud and his kites turned brown. He didn’t even cry.

I had my last massage, a long one, first with Frishta and then my grand finale with Lisa. We exchanged gifts and hugged and kissed goodbye. They kept me sane by faithfully undoing the knots in my body after a week of hard work, week after week, after week.

There is nothing else to pack or to move up or downstairs and so I am concentrating on three projects I hope to finish before I leave: a mouse I am knitting for some unknown baby, the Quaker sampler in shades of red and pink for Sita and Jim’s first anniversary on September 3, and my end of assignment report. The monkey parts are being ‘blocked’ right now, pinned to one of the hefty pillows downstairs.

The sampler is missing a few diamonds after which I will fill up the ‘spaces in between’ with tiny diamonds, the important date and the initials. And the report is now in other people’s hands.

0 Responses to “Towards completion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,965 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


