Choices and chores

People ask me if I have re-adjusted to life in the US and I think I have but then I feel sleepy at odd hours and am overwhelmed by choices and chores. Although I am supposed to be on vacation it doesn’t feel like it. There is so much to do again, a demanding house, especially during season changes, promises of keeping up with people in Kabul, reading writings from the SOLA girls.

We visited Sita in western Mass and sat with the mosquitoes amidst the results of over-enthusiastic tomato planting some months ago – shriveled up tomatoes everywhere on vines – next to an abundance of 6 feet zinnias.

If I’d still be flying we would have been there in 45 minutes but by road it is nearly 3 hours. I have been looking at the sky a lot lately – partially because it is so perfect blue but also because I would love to fly again. Still, with the job situation, and thus income, a bit unclear, flying will have to wait until I can buy a share and take some lessons again.

On the way home we stopped in Auburn to dine with Tessa’s mother-in-law who is babysitting for the honeymooned couple, her brother in law and his not so new wife. I finally got to taste the fancy wedding cake that I missed because of our early exit from the wedding – now nearly 10 days ago. It was still pretty good but a little old. Axel drove back while I slept. A back-and-forth to western mass requires over 5 hours of driving. We are both exhausted.

0 Responses to “Choices and chores”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,428 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


