Old pounds, new pounds

All the dog hair has been removed from the car – nearly all. I found a few stray ones to the great consternation of Andrew the car detailing man who had promised I would be totally satisfied.

While Andrew was detailing our car I visited a friend who hired me 25 years ago as a family planning counselor at Planned Parenthood. Our contact has been spotty but we never entirely lost sight of each other. Now her son is a Peace Corps Volunteer in Lesotho. It was fun looking over the map of Lesotho and hearing the stories about his new life there.

I spent the remaining hours enjoying the freedom of walking around on my own in Gloucester on this warm fall day, had a nice lunch and some wicked good espresso. And while I was doing this Axel and Joe drove to western Massachusetts to take care of some Joe business and have the company of each other during the five hour round trip.

Our shipments have cleared customs, 250 pounds in Minneapolis and the remaining 2500 pounds in Boston. There is now more urgency to rid our house of unnecessary pounds to make room for the new stuff. All of the new pounds are expected to arrive at our door step any time now.

1 Response to “Old pounds, new pounds”


  1. 1 bill rizzo September 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Sylvia,
    Great to have you back. I am extending an open invitation to go flying with me as my guest. I fly on Saturday mornings from 9:30 to 12:30 in 2496X. That is enough time to go to Katama and return. My next scheduled flights are Oct 15, 22 & 29. My email address is “billriz@verizon.net. ”

    bill rizzo


Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,844 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


