Noisy silence

Today we ate lobster number 10 and 11. Axel is having a steady record of catching two lobsters every two days with the increasingly smelly haring bait.

While he was providing sustenance for the family I went to Quaker Meeting, on my bike, trying to re-establish a routine that I had before I left for Afghanistan. Sitting an hour in silent expectancy of communion with God I found my head all but silent – my thought racing around my head remarking that this needed to be done and that, and that, and that. Whole to-do lists emerged while I was trying so hard to meditate and be silent. At the end someone said that the silence had been wonderful. Oh, how I wished…
But the bike ride to and from is also meditative, in a different sort of way, as one has to be careful about traffic and follow the rules. Feeling the warm wind on my arms, neck, face is an untold luxury, still; not having to be all wrapped up such a thrill.

While I continued to adjust to my new life of freedom and complexity and abundance, my two mentees did the third workshop with the Afghan midwife association chapters from several provinces. The first workshop I sat in the back, the second I was in India and so they were on their own – this had not been the plan but postponements had led to this. The third workshop, which was also supposed to happen with me still around also got postponed and so they were once again on their own. I have been thinking about them all weekend and am anxiously awaiting pictures and a report.

0 Responses to “Noisy silence”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,446 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


