No catch today

I sent out some more emails to various places where MSH works or where some of my colleagues find themselves, South Africa, France, Nigeria and Washington, among others, to see what work there might be for me. I am no longer crossing my fingers as that isn’t working all that well. I am now casting my net far and wide.

The contract for my one week in Japan has been signed. Now I can use an entire day – such a luxury – on designing the two day workshop. I can also get my ticket before the price gets over what we budgeted. One could say things are lightening up but I don’t think the roller coaster ride is over yet.

Before dinner we went to the point hoping that the stripers would be chasing the bait fish into the cove – this happens nearly every year during the fall but we never know exactly when. Axel is checking the movements of the seagulls and other sea birds closely – they do tend to give us a heads up that something is afoot, or rather, a-fin.

Axel casted out a few times with no luck. I kept him company while trying to soak up the last rays of the increasingly weak sun. The walk toward the rocks is tricky for me these days – I think it is the fear of falling, a new sensation that I recognize from people much older than myself – Axel is more agile although I did wonder what would happen if a big fish would bite. I think he would topple right over into the water. Luckily no such fish were around. Fishing is mostly about trying, and while doing that enjoying being out in nature, I think. That works for me, with no fish on the line.

After the unproductive but relaxing fishing expedition Axel cooked a wonderful meal: scallops (bought, not caught) in a butter-Pernod sauce, not a weightwatchers recipe exactly, accompanied by a thyme risotto and Indonesian pickled veggies. I was responsible for the Swedish apple custard dessert – a fusion meal that was quite appropriate for the season but rather mismatched in its appearance.

0 Responses to “No catch today”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,361 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


