Starts and moves

I am back in my element – doing what I like to do most: helping people have productive conversations together. I am helping a new project get off on a good start. It is fascinating; I am learning a lot and am awed by the deep experience that is in the team brought together for this project. It is also great to see the team from our donor, the folks who selected us, asking the project team to have fun – imagine that, the thought even! How far away Kabul seems once again.

I am seeing lots of colleagues who I haven’t seen for two years or more, some dear friends. We are sitting in a glass-walled room right across from the glass-walled entrance so I see everyone come in in the morning and I wave discretely to my friends or dash out for a quick hug.

Now most people know about my plight and everyone indicates there will be work. This makes me complacent and tempted to stop looking for a new job. It’s seductive to stay; it is easy and comfortable. But there are no firm offers yet, just ideas and assurances that something will come. I wonder when and keep looking.

Back in the home office my new office is taken away again – I am moved to a room without windows but I am told I can’t be picky. It would make me want to come to the office less. I need to see the sky. But I understand that the less you come in the less attractive your office – the nice spaces with windows, I am told, are for 5-day workers – the fact that I am a 25 year worker doesn’t seem to carry much weight. We are a very flat organization in that respect.

My friends from Holland are being entertained at home by Axel who wants to take them places but they just want to be at our house and relax. I would too after having rowed 3 miles in the Head of the Charles. Resting at Lobster Cove seems just the right things to do. I am sad I am missing out on the fun but grateful that I have work this week. C’est la vie!

0 Responses to “Starts and moves”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,420 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


