Thirtytwoyearsago

Two and a half years have passed since my last visit to Africa, a continent that I visited so often and for so long before I moved to Kabul.

I am starting my re-entry with Kenya, a more or less normal place after Afghanistan. I wrote to my old friends, colleagues, students in Kenya who I haven’t been in contact with for years. Not surprisingly many of the emails bounced, but some wrote back right away. I told them that my schedule was tight and my visit short but hoped we could at least talk on the phone, re-acquaint.

Some of the people I hope to see or will see weren’t parents, or not even married when I last saw them. Now they are parents to more than one child. There is much to catch up. Others were AIDS activists. I am not sure they are still alive. Some of those emails bounced.

I am going to do what I like to do: facilitating the conversations between key stakeholders that need to happen to establish buy in, create a shared vision, for an institution that is supposed to teach Kenyan health professionals how to be good managers and leaders in moving the health agenda forward.

I am only part of this during this one step. There have been many steps before and there will be more in the future. Accompanying such a process over time was the attraction of going to Kabul (an attraction few people understood). A structure with a similar mission (improve management and leadership skills of health professionals) now exists within the ministry of public health in Kabul; it is staffed and has a space, two enormous accomplishments that happened after I left. I helped with the planting and the watering, but am not sure I will ever get to see the harvest with my own eyes – of my four planned trips to Kabul not even one has been scheduled.

Arriving in Kenya was full of old and new; the smell of Africa, stepping out of the airplane, the airport (no change), the road into the city (just more businesses, more buildings) and the hotel (upgraded). I remembered my very first trip to Nairobi in 1979. When Axel and I left to return to Dakar, Sita, the size of a pinhead, traveled back with us. Much has changed, in the world, in airline travel, in Kenya and in our family, since then.

0 Responses to “Thirtytwoyearsago”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,786 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


