Up and running

Day one of our workshop came and went. We are no longer planning in a vacuum as we have experienced a day of interactions. At the end of the day in a reflection the words ‘passion’ and ‘fun’ surfaced. I was happy – those are good words when you talk about things that matter.

A workshop such as this one is as much developmental as it is diagnostic. We learned that everyone recognizes the imbalance between planning (perceived as a strength) and inspiration (lacking), the latter explaining much about implementation falling behind. All this is not unusual in the public sector in my experience.

In the meantime I am trying to sort out the rest of my stay in South Africa – something that is creating some sleepless nights for me as I try to balance expectations and commitments. I wonder if this has something to do with my internal temperature controls being totally out of whack – it does make one tired, these nights full of flashes.

My scrabble interactions with family and friends back in Europe and the US are hindered by not understanding how my smart phone opens up or not to the internet. It seems totally random, no matter what I do. I think it has something to do with T-Mobile being in control even though I have a South Africa simcard. I miss these daily exercises in word cleverness and the chats that accompany them.

At the end of the day the rains came down in sheets again, just when we headed back to the hotel with our fragile flipchart papers that contained the faint outline of a vision. Oh how I missed Sita during the visioning session. She would have done such a superior job scribing and helping participants see their dreams and thoughts on paper.

2 Responses to “Up and running”


  1. 1 hoodsie February 22, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Wish I could have been there too! And by the way – stop beating me at Scrabble!! 🙂 I want a rematch!

  2. 2 svriesendorp February 22, 2012 at 12:40 am

    OK, but I have a very good teacher in Ankie – you play with her and you lose by 200 points but then turn around and beat everyone else!


Leave a Reply

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,420 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


