Break out

It was maybe a year ago, I was still in Afghanistan, that I wrote a comment on Katie’s blog where she reported on her life in South Africa. She wrote me back something like this, “I am sitting on my balcony, it’s warm and sunny. I am looking out over green hills, a glass of cool white wine in my hand…” I think I read that while it was cold and wintry in Kabul, sitting amidst diesel fumes, hacking coughs, no wine or green hills in sight. I remember being a little jealous.

And here I am now, sitting in that same apartment, looking out over these green hills, a glass of white wine and French cheese (another thing I craved in Afghanistan) on the table in front of me. Katie moved out to a real home with more space for her visiting friends and so her place has now become the MSH apartment and I am the first user. It is lovely, breaking out after four weeks in hotels.

The project staff was so kind so put some basics in the fridge, enough for breakfast. I love it that this included the local equivalent of Marmite, Bovril. I added some other basics, like wine and cheese and now life is nearly perfect.

I drove myself to the apartment in my spiffy red Hyunda, a cute little car that the project rented for me so I am no longer dependent on drivers and rides. It gives me some freedom. I had practiced the route to the apartment in my head and was able to follow it without the help of the GPS or my smartphone. I told people not to worry and I called in once I had arrived. The driving on the left side of the road was not so difficult – I have done it before and the neural pathways allowing me to do it again are still there.

0 Responses to “Break out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,361 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


