Moving

I am busy with design work, a thing I like to do best, and something I didn’t get to do much in Afghanistan. I am designing one event for the beginning of next week and another for the end of next week – both for MSH projects but there the resemblance ends.

The design work has led me to rediscover my enormous library of articles and exercises that I have stored in my dropbox and can thus access anywhere.

I am re-reading and re-studying, re-writing in simple language, the works of Schon and Argyris, trying to capture explanations for what is happening here. I get to be an organizational psychologist again and it makes me happy.

Tomorrow I am moving out of the guesthouse, however nice it is, because I am tired of staying in hotels. One of our staff has vacated her one bedroom garden apartment with its wide terrace overlooking the hills – it is now called the MSH apartment and is mine for the last two weeks of my stay here. One of the administrative coordinators has been so kind to stock the refrigerator with some basics and so it is ready to move in. I will be able to prepare my own meals and work in a place that is not my bedroom. Oh, the small things that have become important after one month of hotel life.

I will also be given a rental car so I no longer depend on drivers and rides from colleagues. This does mean I have to get used to left hand manual driving – but I have done it before and I am sure I will get the hang of it quickly – and find my way around town. I have started to pay attention to the route our driver takes and at which landmarks I have to make turns. Luckily I have my smart phone, something that has become invaluable during my stay here, not just for the scrabble games that keep me connected to the home front, but also my Kindle collection and music, and now my GPS navigator.

0 Responses to “Moving”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,965 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


