Duty and leisure

We have completed our ancestral duties for Memorial Day and planted the geraniums at the graves of Penny and Herm, Phil and Paul. Diane had joined us; a quick walk from her backyard to the graveyard. Instead of vodka we sprinkled Dutch gin on the graves, a slight evolution – the taste suits us better.

After the work was done we plopped down on the grass and talked for a long time before returning to sunny lobster cove. Axel took out his kayak to check whether he could still use it with his torn rotator cuff (he could). As soon as he left I decided I too should check out whether I could still row in my Alden shell.

Getting it out into the water was a bit of a challenge, but once on the water I was fine. It was a beautiful late afternoon and the water was mostly flat with long slow lazy swells carrying me forward.  Outside the cove I saw Axel kayaking further out. We met up and continued together which is a bit of a challenge because (a) Axel doesn’t have his hearing aid in so we can’t really communicate and (b) he looks forward and I look backwards and (c) I go much faster with my long oars.

We returned back to the cove just when the wedding party next door was picking up steam. We had not been invited to the wedding of our longtime neighbor’s youngest son. I didn’t mind but Axel was a little peeved.  I treasured not having to be anywhere, not having to dress up and being able to do this outing on the water.

We cooked our dinner on the outdoor fire pit that Axel has bought me for mother’s day (alongside with my meditation bench). We tend to give each other presents that we need or that we like ourselves.  The meditation bench I use every morning. The fire pit we will be using every evening throughout the summer I predict.

Sunday was another leisurely day that include Quaker Meeting and my bike ride to and fro, hilling the potatoes, attending the official re-dedication of the newly restored rotunda at Tucks Point – a whole town event with much appreciation for all the people who had made this historical restoration possible. Axel was one of them.

We skipped a cookout on Plum Island because Axel felt punky. He is still feeling punky but watching Sherlock Holmes distracts him while it chased me upstairs. I am not very receptive to modern Sherlock’s antics and franticness late in the day.

0 Responses to “Duty and leisure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 117,318 hits

Recent Comments

Land marvel property… on Wednesday, December 5, 20…
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


