Summer again

Although I should be used to this by now, it never ceases to amaze me how one moment Axel and I speak via Skype, thousands of miles apart and then poof, we are in the same place again. Of course the ‘poof’ includes 17 hours in planes (this time the baby was sitting in front of me). Still, thanks to the first (or second?) law of thermodynamics and the Bernoulli principle, we are re-united.

During my lay-over in Amsterdam I bought Axel his favorite Dutch drink: Corenwijn. It comes in a 900 gram stoneware bottle. I tried once to buy him Corenwijn that came in a plastic bottle but it was not what he wanted; and so I added about 1 kg to my already overweight hand luggage. I stayed away from the cheese shop (that would have added a few more kgs) and then filled every empty nook and cranny in my hand luggage with lightweight licorice.

Out of curiosity about all the fuss I watched the Hunger Games on my tiny TV screen. I am not an action movie fan but I can manage on a small screen because the blood and gore is less visible.  After having satisfied my curiosity I switched to Robin Williams with his Weapons of Self Destruction. My neighbor had been watching it and was in stitches for a good part of the trip; it was rather contagious and, as a bonus, it killed the time.

I arrived in Boston with plane loads full of young people who were being whisked off to camps and language schools – it is that time of the year. It is hard to imagine crossing the Atlantic to go to camp. But then again, I flew for 18 hours to facilitate a two-day meeting.

It is summer again. I put my warm sweater, scarf and coat back in the closet to wait for our fall and donned proper summer clothes. It was hot and humid in Lobster Cove. If it wasn’t for the off-shore breeze I would have gone for a swim.

0 Responses to “Summer again”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,965 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


