Double happiness and double chins

 

Axel turned 66 on Monday. I decorated his chair with fresh flowers – a benefit to those with summer birthdays – and displayed the usual array of small tchotchkes around his plate to wish him a happy birthday and, collectively, offer the gift of a new and improved Nano (the previous was left on a flight to or from Tokyo) and a book about the fishing trade and Gloucester (The Last Fish Tale by Mark Kurlansky).

But the best birthday gift walked in just as I was about to make the 15 feet commute to my home office at about 8:30 AM – Faro, his mom and dad. Going to work became a little more challenging! We had them with us for the next 36 hours.  I swear I saw Faro grow during that time: a little plumper, a little longer and with a little more hair (definitely red).

Later Tessa came over as well and eventually Steve and a few friends joined in the birthday celebration. Tessa made a spectacular G&T cake; she knows Axel’s favorite summer drink is a G&T.

On Tuesday, getting up early to get to work, I reluctantly said goodbye to Sita, Jim and babe, all wide awake so early in the morning. On my way home I phoned home and to my delight learned they were still there – double happiness!

Faro has been drinking himself into a deep sleep which was fine with me. I joined in and together we took a little snooze as Faro curled up on my chest. Axel snapped a picture of our little pre-prandial nap.  I look like an ‘oma’ with a double chin. I know my siblings will be chuckling and I can predict exactly what they will say when seeing the picture. After all, our ‘oma’ had about 7 chins, soft, fleshy lobes dangling below her real (and first) chin. When I grew up she had just about one chin for each couple of grandchildren. I am just a beginner.

1 Response to “Double happiness and double chins”


  1. 1 Kathleen August 12, 2012 at 4:49 am

    This is sooooooo beautiful — I love it ❤ Happy Birthday to Axel and much love from one Oma to another Oma and Opa 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,898 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


