Learning

Faro, Sita and I chatted yesterday on the videophone (skype). It is such a treat to be able to do that. I needed my Farofix; it has been three weeks since I last saw him. Axel makes up for this by providing a day of childcare service to the new parents, lucky him; lucky them.

Faro, like many children born in the US or Europe these days, will grow up finding these video conferences normal, finding computers old fashioned and flipping things around on a screen run-of-the-mill.

I am closing my first two weeks and preparing for my return to Pretoria. Most of the schedule has fallen in place and it looks like my return trip will be postponed by a few days. I have moved into the design phase of one of the events and am reminded that I like design best of all.

I have learned in the meantime that a prime contractor to which MSH is a sub has been awarded a large worldwide health communication project.  I am on the team as a senior capacity advisor for 50% of my time. This means that I will now have a job for over 150% of my time. I often think back to last year when I returned from Afghanistan, quite depressed and with no clarity about my role or work at MSH. It seems ages ago but the turmoil and agony of that time is still fresh in my mind.

Not only do I have plenty of work, both in the US and overseas, but I also have acquired three supervisees, all women, all interested in things I am interested in.

I am using my quiet time in the evening, after the work is done, to read up on the subject of my title (principal technical advisor for organizational learning). I am finding kindred spirits near and far, surfing from one great essay to another. I am like a kid in a candy store, or an adult at an enormous buffet with all my favorite dishes – digestion is something best done after dinner when I am alone in my hotel room – there’s not much else to do. I don’t watch TV because I don’t like action movies and can’t stand the advertising. My world news I pick up from my smart phone in between appointments and in transit. So I read, copiously, voluminously, while thinking, thinking….

0 Responses to “Learning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,965 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


