Zooming in and zoning out

I am zooming in on the next two trips and the last two of this year (Bangladesh and Japan).  Once again I am mired in arranging flights, trying to get good seats and mentally preparing for another set of long flights. This last trip alone, to Dhaka, fills me with trepidation as it is very, very long, spread over 3 calendar days.

I am enjoying being home. A surprise visit of Faro and his parents this week helped shorten the time I had counted down to see him. It was a quick visit but enough to take measurements for a scarf and mittens, and marvel at how fast he is growing. He was no longer dressed like a baby, with herringbone trousers that include a small change pocket and a cellphone pocket, a striped T-shirt that made him look very French and the bear hat to cover his still bold head.

We worked in the garden and I tried to convert the harvest into a variety of meals: soups, kitchari, apple pie, apple sauce and tomato salads. I am making up for lost veggie meals.

We have had a rather active social life with meals in restaurants, at friends’ homes and standing by the counter.  My stomach has gotten rather confused by the change in diet, or maybe it is the new batch of anti-inflammatory pills that made me feel rather punky. As a result I missed the last debate between the presidential hopefuls.  At any rate, I have already voted, so it makes no difference (as if it would).

At work I am engaged in lots of small (near horizon) tasks and lots of reading.  The reading is to catch up with the world of health communications, understand their theories and latest research, so I can sit meaningfully at the table of the new project with Johns Hopkins, of which I am now part. I discovered a great website of the University of Twente, of all places, where someone went to great length to upload all the (health) communication theories, in English even.

Since the project is all about innovation I am also reading up on that topic and am learning about how to switch on my right hemisphere (daydreaming with a touch of awareness so as not to make it the same as zoning out).

Zoning out is actually what I would like to be doing right now.

0 Responses to “Zooming in and zoning out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,428 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


