Recovery

It is two days after Christmas. We are in the middle of a northeastern. It is raining here while further west it is snowing. Masconomo Street was submerged. We have not seen waves this high in a long time. I have been busy with doctors’ visits those last two days. I learned that I have Hashimoto’s disease, an auto-immune disease affecting the thyroid; something I got it from my mother, according to my doctor. Luckily it is benign and there is medication. Eventually surgery is needed when the thyroid gets too big; maybe 10 years from now? Nevertheless it was not great news.

I also now have a boot on my left foot, the one not broken in the accident that should have been broken in hindsight. The boot is to give my left ankle some relief, and reduce the chronic inflammation so that the pain will subside and I can walk short walks again. I’m quite a sight with my right hand in a cast in my left foot in a boot.

I am writing this using Dragon software which I am training to recognize my voice so that I don’t have to type which is a little bit stressful with my broken right hand.

Sita, Jim, and Faro have left for Western Massachusetts, where we believe there is now 12 inches of snow. They have been with us for a whole week and it was wonderful. The house feels very empty without them.

0 Responses to “Recovery”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,420 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


