Getting better

On Wednesday Axel and I drove in two cars to Mass General Hospital, doubling our parking garage fee but we had to go our separate ways afterwards. I went for a consultation with the thyroid surgeon. We have gotten into the habit of going to doctors’ appointments together – four ears are better than two and we return better informed. If I forget to ask a question Axel will ask it and vice versa. The thyroid doctor in Gloucester had suggested that taking the darn thing out was a good thing. But this doctor admitted surgery would be premature. I was relieved. The idea of having my throat cut was not very appealing. We can wait until the thyroid has become a nuisance. So we are back to one imminent surgery and that is the ankle.

And now I am at Logan airport, only my second trip this year, to take off for Amsterdam and then Kigali and then Entebbe, and then by bus to Kampala. I will arrive at the hotel in Kampala, if everything goes according to plan, about 24 hours from now.

In the meantime I practiced my coaching skills on a colleague in Rwanda. I don’t think I did very well, asking too many closed questions, providing advice, making suggestions. This coaching business is so challenging because of the habits I have formed over decades. At least I am aware of the mistakes I make, always a good first step towards learning a new skill. My client may not have noticed my mistakes but I am a critical observer.

Axel is doing the same – observing himself, noticing old patterns, reactions. It is funny how this coaching business has changed us. We are trying out new scripts with each other, tumbling back occasionally into old patterns, but aware this time.

0 Responses to “Getting better”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,446 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


