Hot & cool

I am missing the second unpleasant hot weather spell at home. Here in Benin we appear to be stuck in a stationary front that covers the city and coast under thick heavy clouds. I haven’t seen the sun in days. It is overcast and humid. From time to time the humidity is 100% and it rains. It is just as well that I don’t have anything else to do than concentrate on work and catching up on piles of reading, in my comfortably air-conditioned hotel room.

I am catching up on reading about networks and neural networks, about risk, ambiguity and the different parts of the brain that kick into action when our emotions are triggered. I surfed the web and hopped along trails that revealed findings from the neuro-sciences. I realize that I was very prescient when I started my psychology specialization, nearly 40 years ago, with neuro-psychology. It is all coming back and, more importantly, it is both hot and cool these days, looking at why people behave the way they do in groups and organizations.

2 Responses to “Hot & cool”


  1. 1 Carol Sawyer July 20, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Dear Sylvia. You are one of the most interesting people I know! I love reading these journals.

    I admire and love you, too.

    How is the ankle? You and the ankle have been on our church healing prayer list many months.

    Carol Sawyer

    On Saturday, July 20, 2013, Sylvia’s Journal wrote: > svriesendorp posted: “I am missing the second unpleasant hot weather spell at home. Here in Benin we appear to be stuck in a stationary front that covers the city and coast under thick heavy clouds. I havent seen the sun in days. It is overcast and humid. From time to time ” >

    • 2 svriesendorp July 20, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      Hi Carol, thanks so much for your message, your love and your church members’ prayers. On August 6 I will have my 4th and probably last second opinion. I am down to two options, neither very attractive: fusion or ankle replacement. I expect a bit more clarity on the 6th and then it will be time for a decision, ughhh.


Leave a Reply

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,909 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


