Getting ready

The blurry week is over, finishing with my pre-op visit to New England Baptist Hospital, located in an elevated part of Boston we never knew about. The views are magnificent if you are lucky to be on a top floor near a window.

It was the most thorough pre-op examination I have ever had, including nose swabs that detected unwanted bacteria – part of an aggressive infection control campaign I have not seen in other hospitals. “We were the first to do this in Boston and our infection rate has gone way down ever since,” said the nurse proudly. I like that; hospital infections scare me.

Our stay in 167 Water Street B&B was part of a barter arrangement for Axel’s graphic design services. It included a three course meal at David’s and, after a good night sleep, a full breakfast with the other B&B guests, visitors from Vermont.

A glorious long weekend allowed for some yard clean up – putting the asparagus bed to bed, pruning the raspberries and removing the frozen tomato and basic plants. But the kale, pak choi and chard are still going strong.

I finished the upholstery project and my recliner chair is now ready for my post-operative period. I am checking things off my to-do list that require two legs. recliner as new

I also handed in all my course requirements for my coaching certification – awaiting word for my final exam in the next few weeks that will, if passed, earn me the title of certified professional coach. The real coaching work of co-workers will start soon after. It’s been a very demanding and fulfilling journey that I started a little less than a year ago. At the time I was not sure I would be able to manage the 225 hours in training.

0 Responses to “Getting ready”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,420 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


