Long tunnel, some light

I am settling into my new dependent lifestyle. I need help with just about everything as I can’t carry stuff from one place to another, nor get up and down the stairs without someone spotting me. I settle into a chair and then make my wishes known: an extra sweater, a book, my computer, a cellphone, food. Axel collects everything I need and tries to make me comfortable; a most wonderful personal attendant!

Yesterday my knee walker arrived which is giving me great freedom. I scoot around the house with great ease. The handy basket below the handlebars allows me to transport some stuff from one place to another and be just a tiny bit less dependent.

I took my last pain pill before I went to bed and hope that indeed it was the last one. Progress. I also had had my first shower this morning – the long road to normalcy has started: 12 more days with the clunky temporary cast. I will get the slimmer full cast as a special present on my birthday. I hope I get to choose a design. Then 40 more days till that one will be taken off. It seems long but the days go fast. I am hopeful.

Every morning I have to inject myself with a liquid that keeps my blood from clotting. I religiously follow the 7 AM ritual: hand washing, alcohol rub, stab myself, press and release the plunger. Axel’s cousin Erik died of a blood clot after ankle surgery some years ago; we were the same age then, early fifties. Once I have my full cast on I can switch to aspirin. I look forward to that milestone.

I took two full days off from work and left an automatic message to that effect. But still, colleagues ask me when I will answer my email again. Monday I go back to work, from my armchair.

Friends have visited, bringing books, food and puzzles. I completed the fun part of the 1500 piece puzzle and then folded the whole thing up when only black and white pieces, hundreds of them, were remaining. I am doing this for fun, no point in doing the not so fun part. Now I am free to prepare for my coaching exam in 2 weeks and pick up my rusted Dari for my upcoming trip to Afghanistan.

0 Responses to “Long tunnel, some light”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,909 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


