Halfway mark

I have just reached the halfway mark of my non-weight-bearing left leg condition. Every morning I calculate the days remaining till ‘cast off.’

The nerve action in my left foot is subsiding a bit which makes me think that the persistent nerve cells have found passages through the altered terrain of my left ankle. One particular point remains tender, as if an icepick is applied on it over and over again. It chafes on the cotton wads that protect my foot and leg from the unforgiving cast. But I don’t want to know what’s going on there – 18 more days and all will be revealed.

I have learned to be quite self-sufficient, showing once more our species’ resilience and adaptability. I can get up and down the stairs, dress and undress, shower, make meals all by myself. Still, Axel is doing double duty, especially when it comes to getting things for which one needs a car. I had had some illusion that by now I could drive myself to work, getting my scooter in and out of the car by myself – but that is not going to happen.

This working from home business has some nice side effects:

-I don’t have to get up at 4:30 AM three days a week and enjoy the luxury of sleeping till 7 every day and seeing my husband before the end of the day.
-I don’t have to do the Christmas commute from hell, which is the entire month of December, passing three major shopping centers to and from work with no alternative routes available.
-I can knit while listening to presentations or participate in teleconferences. As a result I have knitted a pair of socks for Faro to wear in his tiny Dutch clogs and nearly finished a sweater.
-I have been given several writing and review tasks which I have completed in record time as there are no distractions from commutes, in person meetings or walk-ins for gossip or chats with colleagues.
-I am not snacking on cookies, donuts and chocolates which are usually parked right outside my office.

0 Responses to “Halfway mark”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,965 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


