Voiceless

With the bulk of my work done I promptly got sick; as soon as I had said goodbye to my guests on Wednesday night I could feel the laryngitis coming. When I woke up I was voiceless.

I went to the office for two meetings, weathering a snowstorm that left about 8 inches on the ground. I had promised to show up at lunch time for our ladies lunch which would have been a reunion of sorts. But I probably should have stayed in bed.

My participation in the meetings was stressful as I couldn’t really express myself other than in a croaky or whispering voice. At 1 PM was back at the guesthouse and in bed with a warm water bottle, wishing I was home.

I slept for 16 hours, waking up every few hours, and starting Friday still without a voice. On Sunday I am on again for a one day event which will be rather challenging without a voice.

I spent the day between the couch and my bed, too good to be in bed, not good enough to do anything meaningful. Finally at 3 PM, fever abated, cabin fever up, I went with one of my house mates on a drive by tour of Kabul to see Kabul under half a foot of snow under blue skies. The snow softens Kabul’s hard edges except where it has turned into mud.

Afterwards, back at the guesthouse, I watched the movie Kandahar, to stay with the theme of voiceless. It depressed me and got me back into bed.

0 Responses to “Voiceless”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,844 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


