Hard landing

I hardly had time to get back on my feet. Monday saw me work half the day to take care of unexpected and urgent business. It was supposed to be a vacation day as I stand to lose many days by June 30 if I don’t use them. I am trying to do this since April but have not been very successful.

We drove back from Western Massachusetts later Monday after a lovely lunch with Sita and Jim. We drove home in two cars, picking up one that Sita had used. Making the trip back home from Western Massachusetts is no fun on your own, except when you have a good book to listen to. Axel did but I did not. Our ride home was badly timed. Axel took a better route, while I ended up in the worst traffic jam only 20 miles from home which took me one hour and a half to complete. I tried to not let it affect my mood.

On Tuesday we had planned to work in the garden, trimming bushes and planting seeds. But the long list of ‘to dos’ and the relentless stream of emails that demanded instant responses kept me inside. Worse, they produced so much tension, all in my shoulders, that I called up my masseuse, for an immediate and long appointment. She kneaded the knots out of my upper back and got me to breathe freely again.

Back at home we had our first (of many) asparagus meals: eggs, ham, potatoes and asparagus dribbled with butter – a near daily treat for about one month.

I joined Axel in his weekly meditation class in Gloucester. It seemed like a good idea to focus a bit on stilling the mind after all the franticness. It helped and eased the way into a good night sleep before going on another trip that got inserted at the last minute.

I am now in Washington for a couple of days. Here as in Massachusetts there is much pollen in the air and it interfered with my smooth adjustment to East Coast time. Axel is struggling with an inner ear infection and bad allergies and I just plain got sick from whatever. I hope it is the 24 hour kind of malaise and that by the time I get back to Manchester, all will be well.

0 Responses to “Hard landing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,403 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers


