Change for a change

For three days I attended a workshop on theories of change. It is nice to be facilitated for once, rather than facilitating. At the end of the first day the facilitator, who had created a series of exercises to encourage divergence, was settled with the task, her design, her choice, to turn all the input into a first draft our a ‘theory of change’ for the big project that has taken me to the four corners of the world – spreading the management, leadership and governance gospel. I was glad that I didn’t have any homework for the evening, the more so because I felt rather lousy.

On Wednesday evening I managed to pull myself out of my lethargy and take the Metro to see my friends Tisna and Fred who live in a lovely old house not far from Dupont Circle. The walk from the Metro station to their house, only 3 blocks, was painless but exhausting. It is good to know that I can walk without pain in my ankle these days; the exhaustion came from being sick or floored by the pollen, I think. Maybe it is also because I have not walked this distance in more than a year.

We caught up on our lives, kids and touched retirement briefly. I wish I could say, like others of my age cohort, that there is an end in sight to fulltime work but so far it is unclear.

The Theory of Change workshop ended on Friday on a high note. I returned home with some clarity about things I can and want to do to carry the results of our reflections forward.

I landed in Boston, picked Axel up at North Station and joined Tessa and Steve at a concert of Zoe Lewis at Club Passim. We met up with friends and other groupies of the virtuoso trip of Zoe, Mark and Ben who delighted us with their music, high energy and great stories. I have heard the stories many times before but I never tire of them.

0 Responses to “Change for a change”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,844 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


