Connected

IMG_0578

IMG_0580

IMG_0581

IMG_0584

IMG_0587

IMG_0591Like last year I congratulated Faro and his parents on his birthday but could not stay for the party the next day due to my travel schedule. Axel represented the Lobster Cove contingent/and Tessa Dorchester.

The tiny bike I had bought Faro was still too big as only one of his feet could reach the ground. He is apparently growing an inch a month so it won`t be long.

The advantage of being there on the birthday proper is that I didn`t have to share him with all the other grandparents, aunts and uncles. Axel and I had him all to ourselves. We played in the garden, took a miniature train ride in Look park and went out for dinner.

My departure was not as leisurely as we had planned. A last minute schedule change of my Delta flight to Korea guaranteed that I would miss my connecting flight to Mongolia. One hour of phone calls later we had to dash off to the airport to catch a much earlier flight to Chicago to connect to a Korean Airliner that would get me to Seoul in time for my connecting flight.

And now I am in Seoul, or Incheon to be precise. I am looking out over the tarmac, recharging myself and my devices. The 19 hours I have spent so far in planes and airports took a bite out of me.

The airport is connected to the world as one would expect in the land of Samsung, but also to its past. A royal procession was marching through the terminal with traditional drum/music coming from a tablet mounted on a little cart. The traditional costumes are both exquisite and strange, making me wonder how they came into being all these years ago. What were the designers thinking? They certainly were not designed for living.

Looking on, behind the travelers, were Charlie Brown and Hello Kitty, each with their own gift shop/cafe. As in Japan, cartoon characters are immensely popular, more popular than in the countries that created these two characters.

0 Responses to “Connected”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,844 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


