Upward

You may not believe in Mercury retrograde, but three plane crashes in one week, two of them from cities I frequent (Amsterdam and Ouagadougou)? Although they have nothing in common with each other (seems two were weather related), I do fly through some bad weather occasionally and the Sahara is famous for its unstable air.

People who do believe in this phenomenon point out that it is about magnetic fields. I know, from putting my hotel key card next to my cellphone in my pocket or purse, that magnetic interference disables the card, requiring a trip back to the reception to reset the card. So why would this not happen on a grander scale. Has my internet connection been off a bit these last few weeks?

I am recovering from my pneumonia in fits and starts; it is definitely not a straight line up. Still, like the rates of stocks seen as a graph over time, the trend is overall upward.

I have started to do some work, adding about an hour every day; one a program that is part of a local foundation’s interest in advancing leadership skills for women in Japan – the brainchild of a former MSH executive (and my boss) who passed away unfortunately. But in this initiative her influence continues. I was asked to be part of this because of my work in Japan. It’s exactly the kind o work I love.

I was supposed to have been furiously writing this week about our work with ministries of health around the world on such things as good governance, leadership and management. A series of meetings took place which I missed, making the writing task a little harder as I am missing a lot of context. All this is now postponed till next week. I may do the writing from home where distractions are less than when I am in my cubicle in our ‘office garden’ in Medford.
All

0 Responses to “Upward”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,357 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


