Sleep

Our first day home was a workday for me. I worked from home by telephone and was able to be mildly productive. I took a nap in the afternoon and went to bed early. On Thursday I went in to work for a series of meetings that kept me occupied for a good part of the day but by 3 I started to fade, my eyes red. Still, I didn’t drive home until 5 after I had had a chance to say hello to our various country representatives who were in our office for a week of strategizing and connecting. They were in meetings all day long so I had to park myself ioutside their meeting room to get a chance to say just a quick hello.

Sita, Jim and Faro joined us at dinnertime where Axel showed off his cooking skills with a delicious Pad Thai. But always, when Axel cooks, we eat very late. I don’t know how I was able to stay awake till ten when the meal was finally cooked.

During our absence one of our plants died, the passion flower that is a bit of a Lazarus plant, having died a few times before but always coming back. It is an old plant that we rescued from Axel’s father’s greenhouse and has some sentimental value. We keep our fingers crossed that it will come back again this time.

In the meantime, Sita taught us that the leaves and the twigs are medicinal. She boiled the twigs and crumpled the dried up leaves. It helps with sleep, she told us, and isn’t addictive. Last night I made a cup of passion flower tea and fell asleep instantly, sleeping for four hours without interruption.

Since I fell and hurt my shoulder on November 30 I have not had a full night sleep as the shoulder is particularly painful at night. I often wake up every hour or two hours. So the passion flower-induced sleep is an improvement.

I was cleared by my family doctor for my shoulder surgery and have another clearance procedure next Friday at the hospital, and then it is countdown. I never thought I would look forward to surgery but now I do. I would like to get back to a good night sleep and be done with this constant low grade pain in my shoulder.

0 Responses to “Sleep”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,315 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever
svriesendorp on Opa-Oma-vacation-fun

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


