Halfway sling

I am counting the weeks, three done, three more to go before I can drop the sling. I have started physical therapy. Given the tenodesis, a new word I learned which meant my biceps got essentially cut off the bone, repaired and re-attached, my PT treatment is conservative with the biceps part the most delicate of the repaired tendons. I am leaving tomorrow for Ethiopia with instructions for 3 exercises that require very little movement and all of it passive. It is a bit scary.

Axel left on Monday for Munich and this left me on my own. I can do pretty much everything except drying myself with a towel (I dry in my bathrobe) and making the bed. I will find my bed just as I left it tomorrow when I return on the 26th.

I worked mostly from home this week, which was nice since driving an hour into Boston with one arm in a sling is not ideal. Only on Wednesday did I drive in because of a face to face meeting I didn’t want to postpone.

It has been a lovely week, weatherwise and the earth around our house is breathing green after the long white winter. The little colored perching birds are flocking to the feeders with the nettle seeds that the squirrels don’t like. They, in their turn, are frantically digging up the yard for the nuts they hid in the fall. There are little holes everywhere.

Axel is having a good time in Munich, not surprising since he is in good company and in beerland, but most of all among kindred spirits from the Valueweb, a group that Sita has been very active for years. There is perfect harmony in this undertaking: Axel leading Sita into the new world of graphic scribing and then facilitating, and then Sita bring Axel back into that world.

And while I am leading a senior leadership program for 6 teams from, respectively, Chad, Niger, Madagascar, Burundi, Togo and DRC, laying the rails in front of the moving train (and all of this with one hand), Axel will enjoy the company of my Dutch relatives and our friends, crisscrossing Holland next week when the work in Munich is done.

0 Responses to “Halfway sling”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,315 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever
svriesendorp on Opa-Oma-vacation-fun

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


