Down to earth and work

I returned home from Ethiopia on Sunday. On Monday Axel came back from his two week Europe trip, a week’s conference in Munich and a week of visiting relatives and friends in Holland. I had hoped to return via Holland and share in the fun but the business class trip was expensive enough as it was going straight through Frankfurt both ways. We talked on Skype while we were both in Germany, a separation of about 200 miles.

While Holland and Germany were far advanced in Spring, coming home to bare trees and even still some piles of dirty snow was discouraging. But the sun of the last few days has awakened everything and everybody, and so there is hope. A few asparagus tips are visible. We will eat our own asparagus next week!

I had hoped to take it easy and rest on Monday but such was not the case; several tasks had lined up to keep me busy and Monday became a regular workday. I am lucky in the sense that there are many assignments stacked in front of me, no dull moments or times without work, stretching into September, with a few occasions to catch my breath: a week in June when my sister visits, a week after Sita gives birth in August and two weeks in Maine at the end of August and the first week of September. It’s strange to think that far ahead to the end of the summer when we have just barely entered into spring.

When I left Ethiopia the earthquake hit in Kathmandu. I got in touch with my friends, wide and far, who are connected to my experiences in Nepal. All are safe but some have lost much. Not able to do much other than giving money, I support ICA-Nepal in their courageous efforts to alleviate suffering and contribute what they can. My thoughts and prayers are with all of the people of Nepal.

Such catastrophes put things in perspectives, including my occasional sighs about my recovering left shoulder which is till immobilized in a sling until May 8 (although I am cheating a bit).

0 Responses to “Down to earth and work”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 117,627 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on
Carol Sawyer on
Land marvel property… on Wednesday, December 5, 20…
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers


