Running ahead

Something like spring, with an occasional whiff of summer arrived this weekend. About 10 asparagus are poking their heads through the ground. We mulched and fertilized and cow-manured to make sure they have everything they need to grow into healthy stalks. I suspect in a few days we can have our first asparagus meal. Unfortunately I will be in DC.

The annual ritual of cleaning of the sticky residue that covers our indoor plants after a long winter with aphids has begun. Axel will have to do this alone since I remain one-armed. Although I am not supposed to liberate my arm until Friday, I stopped sleeping with the sling and when working on my computer. I do my exercises faithfully, passively stretching the unused muscles and tendons.

After May, with a couple of trips to DC, June and July have me travel to Uganda, Madagascar and Ethiopia or Togo. All trips require much prep work. I welcome the lonely evenings in my hotel room in DC (sorry DC friends, no visits), giving me several more hours to do what I can’t do during the day. Later in June Axel and I will drive to DC where I have a week-long conference but Axel is planning to play.

My trip in June to Uganda gives me 24 hours in Holland. I rented wheels so I don’t have to put up with the Dutch train system’s Sunday repairs, complicating otherwise simple trips. The 24 hours give me enough time to see my youngest brother in Amersfoort where he will turn his partnership of 16+ years into a marriage and visit a very ill friend near Leiden. But I am running ahead of myself. Asparagus first!

0 Responses to “Running ahead”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,821 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


