Free!

Exactly 6 weeks ago I stood at the portal to this long road to recovery and sighed at the length of time before me. Then, six weeks seemed an eternity; a one-armed journey with a bulky sling, awkward nights, back sleeping for a side sleeper. Not to speak of the first few weeks when I was sore, and dreaded encounters with people slapping me on the shoulder and giving bear hugs, while gingerly avoiding my lower arm and hand in the sling. And then the last weeks (true still) where the tendinitis and pain in the other upper arm and shoulder worsened considerably, due to double duty no doubt.

But, as they always do, the last day of these 6 weeks arrived yesterday. I took the sling off and forgot about it. It is not that I am out of the woods. “Nothing heavier than a coffee cup,” said the surgeon, although he did not specify whether the cup should be empty or full. Physical therapy will continue for 6 more weeks and then months of strength training. Six months to one year until full recovery, some people say.

I returned Thursday night from DC and had planned, as I do frequently, to take Friday off. But a series of meetings on Thursday had produced many responses to questions regarding the design of a large technical summit for my pharmacist colleagues, late June. My head was spinning as I glanced over the (poorly organized) notes I had taken. I figured that I had to rely on memory, and if I didn’t work on Friday, on Monday my insights and memories would be gone. So the planned day off became a 10 hour workday. But when I closed my computer, exactly at 6 PM yesterday, there was nothing to remember as all was put to paper.

Last night we attended another Zoe Lewis concert, may be our fourth or fifth, at Passim. We invited friends and found several colleagues and ex-colleagues there, making up about one third of the audience. It was a perfect ending to a day of slogging. Zoe’s energy and talent, was, as usual, sky high. She was accompanied by our friend Marc who is a clarinet virtuoso and young Ben who is defending his thesis next week but took some time off to complement Zoe and Marc with his jazzy harmonica sounds. When we got home it was long beyond my bedtime. I had forgotten all about the 10 hours of work.

0 Responses to “Free!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,315 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever
svriesendorp on Opa-Oma-vacation-fun

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


