Girlie things

I arrived late afternoon at the lovely boutique hotel ‘Tamboho’ in Antananarive, where I slept the first night of this trip. They gave me the same room and so there was a feeling of coming home. I purchased a new phone card, got myself some cash and purchased chocolate, vanilla and wild peppers for paying off some debts back home.

The restaurant’s menu had changed since I had tried all its offerings during my last trip. I had a delicious meal of curry&carrot soup, foie grass, toasted pineapple with ginger and a glass of red wine, my first in over a week. Back in my room I enjoyed the relatively stable internet connection and, while watching TV for the first time in a week, took care of some business related to assignments that are stacking up on the runway: a short workshop on advocacy this coming week, our week long senior leadership program in Lome the week after, and the Philippines a few weeks after that.

The internet connection allowed me to have a good Facetime chat with home where Faro, sitting on his turquoise toilet throne, announced proudly he had pooped in the right place. Everyone cheered.

This morning I slept in, had a nice breakfast while trying to listen in on a group of older American tourists who had just arrived last night. I am none the wiser but observed they are mostly women in the age category of ‘old but not that old.’ The hotel seems to cater to English speakers.

After breakfast I made an appointment for a late afternoon massage and had my toe nails done. Next to the massage and nail place is a small shop dedicated to ‘puericulture,’ which puts it, linguistically, at the same level as agriculture and viniculture. They sell baby and children’s clothes and paraphernalia, all dedicated to the ‘culture of kids.’ With a granddaughter slated to arrive in less than a month I couldn’t help myself. There is something about French baby clothes that is irresistible, they have a high cuteness factor. Against better judgment I bought some girlie things in pink and red.Blog 003

0 Responses to “Girlie things”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,844 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


