Back to work

I am back at work. Aside from trying to fill my dance card for the next few months (it is nearly filled), I am preparing for a three day workshop next week with four Japanese women selected to be a month in Boston to learn about American NGOs and to strengthen their leadership skills in order to bring about positive social change in Japan and get women to join the effort in droves.

The Japanese Women Leadership Initiative (JWLI) is a 9 year old program that was conceived by an amazing energetic Japanese woman and two American women, one who was my boss once, a long time ago. I have been so privileged to be the lead for this activity at MSH and I am enjoying it enormously. I get to design a program, bring in great people to teach with me, and be invited to sushi dinners at an office high up in the center of Boston with 360 views of the city and its surroundings; really, what more could one wish?

We start next week. I am the chief cook and bottle washer for this event and have been focused primarily on the logistics of pulling this off. Yesterday I had reserved time to focus on the content but other things intervened. I am teaching about leadership, management and good governance as well as political advocacy, the latter two areas where I still need some prep time before we start on Tuesday morning. At the same time I am preparing for my upcoming trip to Kinshasa and figuring out what my role is in a new reconfigured MSH. There are no dull moments and life remains full.

0 Responses to “Back to work”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,410 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


