Easing in

I spent the morning of my Saturday in Johannesburg working. When I am on a trip some of the other work continues. I wanted to clear my plate and thought I did when I learned there were other files to review though not visible to me in the Google Drive; most of the time I like Google Drive but yesterday I didn’t.

I treated myself to a Lebanese mezze for lunch, a macchiato on a terrace and then a pedicure. I decided that I hadn’t quite earned the massage yet (that’s the Calvinist in me).  For dinner I feasted on softshell crab and a magnificent glass of white wine at the Koi restaurant, a chain I know from my Pretoria stays that has an interesting cuisine. I eat my meals fast as there is no one to converse with. When the tables filled up and people were waiting to be seated I offered the other three chairs at my table, looking forward to some dinner conversation, but the wait staff looked at me as if I was off my rocker. Apparently one doesn’t do that here.

Back at the hotel I found that my suitcase was heavier than the airline allowed. I filled my hand luggage and succeeded to stay under the 20 kg for the flight to Tana. I left my cliff and other bars, that I now know contain a lot of sugar, for the hotel staff. I am holding on to the various packages of chocolates but that is for the teams I will work with. Bringing chocolate to Madagascar is like bringing coal to Newcastle, but I couldn’t think of anything else to bring.  Should I now feel guilty about bringing gifts that I no longer deem edible, at least not for the next 40 days?

And now I am in Tana, not at the usual boutique hotel where I have always stayed as it is full. I am put up at a “you-could-be-anywhere-in-the-world hotel.” It looks just like the one I will be staying in in Abidjan in a few weeks.

I am looking out over leaden skies. Everything is wet – it is the rainy season here, hot and humid. As soon as I got off the plane I started to have watery eyes and sneeze– I am beginning to think that I am allergic to Tana, as this has happened each time I have come here.

And now I am going to have my free welcome cocktail (a beer I think) at the bar downstairs and check out the sauna, hamman and espace sportif – all of which I get to use for free, the boutique hotel doesn’t quite have that. And then I am going to celebrate my last free night trying to finish the book Congo (by David van Reybrouck) that my sister gave me in June.

The period I am reading about now (early 50s) is exactly the time that my father travelled across-Africa (hitting some of the same cities I am doing now) on a brewery trip that took 3 months. Travel is a bit faster these days.  I can’t remember whether he stopped in Congo, but if he did, he may well have met some of the future giants of Congo politics (as they were each associated with a beer company – Lumumba, Congo’s first prime Minister was at Polar beer, and Kasavubu, Congo’s first president was with Primus beer). I have my father’s diary at home and only skimmed through it once. I was embarassed by the racist undertone of his writing about the locals het met (presumably mostly servants and servers) and the luxurious life that the Belgians and French lead: houses at the most beautiful spots, camembert and french wines flown in regularly – they live like kings, my father remarked. The diary sits in a box with postcards from african cities: palms, neatly painted colonial architecture (without the black mildew), an occasional car and bus and here and there a bare-breasted African woman.

0 Responses to “Easing in”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,242 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever
svriesendorp on Opa-Oma-vacation-fun

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


