Surrender to surprises

It was the ultimate challenge, working with a group of unknown size, representing unknown parts of the ministry of health, with a new colleague, although a seasoned facilitator, entirely new to our program, and with people I have no relationship with – and with whom it is hard to do so without a voice.

We had tried hard to get a few minutes with another high positioned individual who gave us an appointment at the exact time we were to start our afternoon meeting; somehow my colleague thought this was possible and I surrendered. I did a lot of surrendering these last few days and had very low expectations. Getting access, even if for a few minutes to a high level official can be a major victory and the highlight of one’s day. I also surrendered to being sick and without voice and to all my colleagues from the other projects, who know our methodology well and could run such a meeting on a minutes notice, not being available at all.

I had a rough night, waking up every two hours, then with this cold symptom, then that, feverish and dreading having to get up and go to the office and then do this meeting. There was no question of canceling it – it was such a victory that we were told about 30 people would attend from across the mid to senior level of the ministry. The next time we would be able to those people would be in January, when I am not able to come here.  I had to observe my colleague in action and be confident she can take this on without me. In a way she had to, since I could only whisper to her when I felt she needed some re-direction.

Given all this, the meeting went better than I could have hoped. We introduced the notion that a vision is like a dream but with wheels underneath (=action).  That’s the session they found most memorable. And I got a good idea what the fruits of better leadership and management and governance would look to them. Nothing earth shocking but something to refer to later and because of that, quite helpful.

0 Responses to “Surrender to surprises”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,358 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


