Thanksgiving by Skype

Although participating in the Thanksgiving celebration on Skype doesn’t satisfy all the senses (smell, taste and touch), it did satisfy some (sound and sight). I connected three times during the day, following the various preparations from early morning (nothing on the stove at all) to mid-day (giant turkey in oven), to ‘nearly there.’ We remembered last year when the electricity went out and we huddled around the stove melting the snow for tea, coffee and other liquids. This time things were easier.

I got to show my face to Saffi who doesn’t quite understand the concept of ‘Oma,’ and see Faro being a bit too helpful in bringing in an egg from the chicken coop, egg dripping on his hand. An information session on the fragility of eggs is clearly in order.

I learned more about the various creative endeavours of the members of my family: Sita has already made ceramic mugs, Tessa showed the ring she has made and Axel is making art on silk. Sita asked me what I wanted to learn to do, other than knitting and embroidery. I had to think a bit. Woodworking I finally said, something I did two decades ago at the local vocational school, but now I travel to much to take scheduled courses. I made a coat rack, fixed a set of drawers, made a clothes valet for Axel and saw horses – all in good use still. More than 5 decades ago I learned woodworking in France during a summer camp. I made a small stool, turned a salad bowl and egg cups. I love the feel of wood and see a rough piece of wood transformed into something of beauty. Actually, I like transformations, period. Even here, in five days I saw some transformations, good ones.

I can’t wait to be back now and am counting the days – 14 days to be exact, and two more assignments remaining. It’s been a great trip so far but I don’t think I am going to make it a habit to be away for 6 weeks, unless Axel comes along.

0 Responses to “Thanksgiving by Skype”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

a

Blog Stats

  • 117,627 hits

Recent Comments

svriesendorp on
Carol Sawyer on
Land marvel property… on Wednesday, December 5, 20…
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers


