Bleak

I was the first for breakfast this morning, testing how well prepared the kitchen was for having some 30 people show up every morning this week.  As there was no one in the restaurant I ventured into the kitchen. What I saw there was rather disgusting, and once again I am amazed they were able to keep Ebola out. The place was filthy with plates from last night’s dinner heaped up and general chaos. I swore not to eat anything that was cooked in there and this morning I declined the omelet. It is going to be a week of limp baguettes and tea. The luxury will be the small Vache Qui Rit triangles that I will buy myself. It is a bleak prospect but it will all be over by Friday.

What is also bleak is the news on France 24 with all these images of serpentine wire, guns, explosions, blood and crying women. And then there are the documentaries about climate refugees; this morning was about villagers in Bangladesh whose livelihood has been wiped out and who are now squatting in the slums of Bangladesh. I watch more TV during my trips than at home and it is a sapping experience.

Bleak is also the large mirrored bar cabinet in the restaurant that doubles as bar at night. It could hold 40 bottles but there are only three, whisky, gin  and something else, that speaks of loneliness and its consequences.

I am utterly aware of the catabolic energy that pervades just about everything and I am determined to turn it around, at least with the people I can influence this week.

2 Responses to “Bleak”


  1. 1 Judith J. Haycock November 30, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    I will be very happy to hear that you have landed at Logan and are happily at home with Axel. Know you do good work, but it has to be so difficult to be away from family and friends for a prolonged period of time. hugs, jjh

  2. 2 svriesendorp December 1, 2015 at 3:00 am

    Thanks Judy, yes I am beginning to tire of this very long trip and am looking forward to returning home. 11 more days. Hugs to you


Leave a Reply

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

a

Blog Stats

  • 116,821 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


