For granted

We have gotten several reminders that life is precious and not to be taken for granted. I saw a bumper sticker on a car that said: I’d rather be here now.  Yes please!

Our friend D is in the emergency room with a dissected aorta; S’s husband is recovering from a quintuple bypass – we didn’t even know such a thing was possible. The heart attack came while he was driving; and I skyped with M in Jordan who lost her 9 year old son to diabetes a few months ago. There is much grieving out there. Life is fragile.

Sita got sock wool for Christmas from her husband – implied in the gift was a desire for hand-knitted socks. This is a new frontier for Sita. Today we are going to get her the right size needles and I will help her. In order to remind myself how to knit sock I knitted a pair for myself. I used a ball of Kashmir wool that I had purchased many years ago in Kabul. The moths had gotten a hold of this and other wool brought back from Afghanistan. I had put the balls in the freezer for a few months and took the wool out for the socks. Every few yards the yarn had been eaten through but the pair was made in spite of it all.

I found my mother’s handwritten instructions for making socks during one of my decluttering attempts. When I grew up my mother knit all the socks for 5 kids, darning them in between kids with a wooden darning egg. She taught me knitting but the darning I never got right. Nowadays socks are so cheap it is hardly worth making them yourself, but it is fun and very satisfying to knit one’s own. She also knit us countless sweaters – all this while holding a job; as kids we took all this for granted.

On this last day of 2015 I intend to not take anything for granted and try as much as I can to be here now. Wishing my faithful followers a happy 2016.

3 Responses to “For granted”


  1. 1 Edith Maxwell December 31, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    A happy, healthy, and always appreciative 2016 to you, dear Sylvia. As one of your faithful followers, may I express my appreciation for your blog – I never take it for granted!

  2. 2 Isabella Bates January 1, 2016 at 10:53 am

    I too send warmest greetings for the new year. I have so enjoyed following you around the world. Even though you are down the street when home I also love to hear about you and your family. Thanks for doing this.

  3. 3 Marnina Cowan January 4, 2016 at 10:00 am

    A happy and healthy New Year to you! I love reading about your adventures and I can’t wait to see what 2016 brings in your life. Thank you for sharing pieces of your life in this online space.

    Living with a chronic illness, I am frequently reminded that life is fragile. I try very hard to not take anything for granted, but doing so is an incredible challenge. I hope D and S’s husband make a full recovery. Grieving is incredibly difficult, but the ability to grieve and to share sadness with friends and family are gifts that should also not be taken for granted.


Leave a Reply

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,358 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


