Good intentions

Saturday was another workday, our last, but it kept us busy in meetings until it was time to go to the airport to catch my flight to Johannesburg. I kept telling myself that once I landed I would have time to finish my notes, turning my scribbles in the training handbooks into notes usable for the session authors. But once there I realized that transcribing scribbles into notes is tedious and detail work I didn’t have the energy for. I postponed the task once more with the intention of finishing the job in Madagascar before my next assignment would start on Monday.

The flight from Johannesburg to Antananarivo is only a short 3 hours but between getting up at 7:30AM and arriving at 6PM at my hotel in Tana (5PM South African time), I took me an entire day.

The quiet Sunday afternoon I had imagined myself sitting on a terrace with a cup of tea, finishing my work, didn’t materialize because a glitch in Kenya Airways baggage handling left me waiting for a colleague for two hours. I took the taxi I could have taken 2 hours earlier and arrived in the dark.

To my great surprise I arrived at the same time as two ICRC staff members with whom I have shared many weeks of training in Addis, Lomé, Bangkok and Dar es Salaam. Quelle coincidence! We had a nice dinner together, longer than if I would have eaten alone, and thus the final slug to complete my assignments from Capetown made for yet another late night, hopefully my last.

0 Responses to “Good intentions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

a

Blog Stats

  • 117,318 hits

Recent Comments

Land marvel property… on Wednesday, December 5, 20…
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


