Wintry

The air around me plummeted from 86 degrees to 3 in a little over a day while I flew the 7000 miles or so from steamy West Africa to wintry East America. I was routed through New York. Standing in one line then another, was annoyed with myself for not having insisted I travel through Amsterdam. I would have been home, with cheese and licorice in my hand luggage.

The flight from Brussels was first delayed and then a little less delayed as per the messages from Delta about this that tumbled over each other on my phone, iPad and computer. I had gotten my upgrade so the flight from Brussels to JFK was going to be a cinch; a good thing as I had not slept at all during the flight from Monrovia. I did the sleeping somewhere over the Atlantic on my flatbed at 3A.

Because of the delay, first of the flight and then of my suitcase coming out, I missed my connection to Boston, and with that the large plane that would have given me a less bumpy ride into windy Logan. I had my flimsy late spring/early autumn jacket on which offered no protection against the icy winds blowing outside the terminal. Axel was there and whisked me away in a car with heat on high.

The trip had lasted exactly 30 hours. I tumbled into bed and woke up to 3 degrees Fahrenheit (-16 Celsius). I was going to need a different kind of clothing.

0 Responses to “Wintry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Blog Stats

  • 114,898 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


