Arts north

We spent the weekend in Camden (Maine) and surrounding towns. We met the artist and her husband and son for tea on the day of our arrival and hit it off well. We then went to explore our temporary home.

The town of Camden, as is most of coastal Maine in winter, was quiet and deserted. Only the locals remain, just a few thousands I imagined. They get through the winter by serving each other food, or conducting classes (art, yoga, resume writing), and doing such basic things as tax preparation, snow shoveling and car repairs. Winterfests are organized to keep people from shutting themselves in I suppose. The Camden Winterfest included toboggan races, snow sculptures and a film festival. The wind was harsh and the temperature below freezing which was good for the Winterfest but generally not so great for southerners like us.

After I dropped Axel off I practiced some drawing skills, guided by an imperfect homemade video of an artist who taught me the basics of analytical drawing. In spite of the poor quality of the video I learned a lot – good teachers can work in any medium. A noontime I went to Rockland, some 20 minutes away and visited the deserted Farnsworth Museum which is best known for its collection of 3 generations of Wyeths.  I admired the middle Wyeth’s watercolors which makes me want to pick that up again and take another class; all that is for later when my travel schedule allows for following a series of classes (=retirement).

In the meantime I finished reading two of the three cozy mysteries we bought last week. I am enjoying the hours that Axel has his lessons being free as a bird. I had brought bagfulls of stuff to do leaving me plenty of choices.

I had signed up for a class at the Rockland Art Loft to learn the craft of Zentangle, a meditative form of drawing that consists of a tangle of patterns, executed with great discipline on small tiles with a thin black pen. Although it was not at all the kind of drawing I had wanted to learn during the week, it was fun and added a new practice to bide time when waiting for something to happen, like medical personnel to call your name or planes to land or lift off. The pictures below are from our class. This pdf contains my first-fourclassproducts

0 Responses to “Arts north”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

a

Blog Stats

  • 115,351 hits

Recent Comments

mclarenx.com on Back to work
svriesendorp on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on Western Mass
Judith J. Haycock on The Norwegians were here
Herman on Spring and election fever

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers


